Keynote Speakers


Prof. David T.W. Lin, 
National University of Tainan, Taiwan


David T.W. Lin is currently Professor and Chairman of Institute of Mechatronic System Engineering, National University of Tainan. He received the PH.D. Mechanical Engineering from Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan. He is the Project Leader of CO2 Heat Extraction on Reservoir of Enhanced Geothermal System, National Energy Project. He served as the conference chair of IEEA 2016, the editor of Smart Science and Int. J. Sci. Eng., in addition, the deputy chairman of Secretariat, Aeronautical and Astronautical Society of Republic of China. He is devoted to the study of Geothermal System, Energy Harvesting, and Optimal Theory. In last five years, His publications are more than 100 research papers and conference papers on the energy, heat transfer and optimization field. For his outstanding academic research, he receives the excellent scholar award of Ministry of Education, R.O.C. from 2015 to 2017.

2015 Professor & Chairman, Graduate Institute of Mechatronic System Engineering, National University of Tainan, Taiwan
2016 Conference Chair, 2016 International Conference on Informatics, Environment, Energy and Applications (IEEA 2016), Hong Kong
2016 Guest Editor, International Journal of Transport Phenomena(IJTP) Special Issue "Nanoscale Thermophysics and Transport Research in Taiwan"
2015 Project Director, Geothermal Energy and Gas Hydrate Focus Center, Ministry of Science and Technology, Taiwan
2015 Keynote Speaker of COMSOL Global Forum
2015 Counselor of Tainan City, Taiwan
2015 Associate Editor In Chief, Smart Science, ISSN: 2308-0477
2015 Member of Accreditation Council of Republic of China Fine Manufacturer Association & Advisory Counselor of Industrial-Academic Cooperation
2015 Editorial Board, International Journal of Science and Engineering
2015 Member of Popular Science Education Committee, Aeronautical and Astronautical Society of Republic of China
2012-2013 Deputy Chairman of Secretariat, Aeronautical and Astronautical Society of Republic of China

Honorary Award : 
2015-2017 Excellent Scholarship, Ministry of Education, Taiwan
2010, 2011, 2012, 2014 Excellent Research Talent Award, Ministry of Science and Technology, Taiwan
2011-2012 Marquis Who’s Who in Science and Engineering
2011 Paper Award of The 2011 IAENG International Conference on Industrial Engineering, Hong Kong


Prof. Jesus Toribio
University of Salamanca,Spain


Professor Jesús Toribio graduated in Civil Engineering in 1982 and then in Mathematics in 1986. In 1987 he was awarded his PhD in the Polytechnic University of Madrid (UPM) and turned into Associate Professor in that Institution. In 1992 he became Full Professor and Head of the Materials Science Department of the University of La Coruña (at the age of 32, thus being the youngest Full Professor in the area of Materials Science in Spain). In 2000 he moved to the University of Salamanca (USAL) where is currently Full Professor of Materials Science and Head of the Fracture and Structural Integrity Research group (FSIRG) of that Institution.

His research work is mainly concerned with fatigue and fracture mechanics, environmentally assisted cracking, stress corrosion cracking and hydrogen embrittlement/degradation/damage of metals and alloys (mainly cold drawn pearlitic steel wires for civil engineering and austenitic stainless steels for nuclear engineering and energy applications), covering theoretical, computational and experimental aspects. He actively participates in International Conferences, very often being member of the International Advisory Committee, organising Special Sessions/Symposia, being Session Chairman or delivering Plenary/Keynote/Invited Lectures. Professor Dr. Jesús Toribio has published more than 500 scientific papers, most of them in international books and journals.

He is the Chairman of the Technical Committee 10 (TC10): Environmentally Assisted Cracking of the European Structural Integrity Society (ESIS) and has been Director (2013-2017) of the International Congress of Fracture-The World Academy of Structural Integrity (ICF-WASI), being responsible of launching the Ibero-American Academy of Structural Integrity (IA2SI). Prof. Toribio has been awarded a variety of scientific research prizes and awards including: (i) UPM Young Scientist Award of the Polytechnic University of Madrid; (ii) METROTEC Award for the best Technological Research Project; (iii) Honour Medal of the Spanish Group of Fracture (GEF/SEIE) in recognition of his research achievements in the field of fracture mechanics; (iv) Fellow of the Wessex Institute of Technology (WIT) in recognition of leadership and outstanding work in engineering sciences, (v) Top Reviewer 2011 in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the quality of the Elsevier International Journal Engineering Fracture Mechanics, (vi) Fellow of the European Structural Society (ESIS Fellow) for his outstanding contributions to the art, science, teaching or practice of fracture mechanics and his service to the society; (vii) Honorary Member of the Italian Group of Fracture (IGF) in acknowledgement and appreciation of his outstanding achievements in the research field of fracture mechanics (viii) Best Paper and Presentation Award in the International Conference on Energy Materials and Applications (ICEMA 2017) held in 2017 in Hiroshima, Japan, with a paper entitled: Numerical Simulation of Hydrogen Diffusion in the Pressure Vessel Wall of a WWER-440 Reactor.

Assoc. Prof. Qi Li
Tsinghua University, China

Qi Li is currently an associated professor of Electrical Engineering at Tsinghua University, China. He received his Ph.D. degree in Materials Science at Wuhan University of Technology, China in 2013. From March of 2013 to November of 2016, he was a postdoctoral fellow at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering of the Pennsylvania State University. He started his appointment at the Department of Electrical Engineering of Tsinghua University in December 2016. His research interest has been focusing on polymer-based nanocomposite materials with unique dielectric properties for electrical energy storage and conversion. His main scientific contributions include the development of state-of-the-art polymer nanocomposites for electrical energy storage and electrocaloric refrigeration applications, and the understanding of dielectric properties of polymeric materials under high electric fields and elevated temperatures. He has published over 50 SCI-indexed papers in journals such as Nature, PNAS, Nature Communications and Advanced Materials. He was awarded the MRS Postdoctoral Award in 2016 because of his scientific achievement in polymer nanocomposites for energy storage and conversion. He is an Editorial Board Member of IET Nanodielectrics, and is the Guest Editor of Special Issue “Polymers for Film Capacitors” published by Materials. He is also a member of Professional Committee of Dielectric Polymer Composite Materials and Applications, Chinese Society for Composite Materials.